NDA takes early lead in Bihar Assembly polls

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

PATNA - The Nitish Kumar-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) took an early lead as counting of votes for the 243 assembly seats of Bihar began on Wednesday.

Latest trends available for 147 of the 243 seats showed that the alliance was ahead in 108 seats - a gain of 14 since the last elections.

While Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) was leading in 65 seats, the BJP was ahead in 43. he RJD-LJP alliance was leading in just 25 seats. The RJD was ahead in 17 and the LJP in eight.

The Congress was leading in five seats. Other parties and Independents were leading in nine seats.

Counting of votes for all the 243 Assembly constituencies in Bihar began this morning amidst tight security.

Counting for the Banka parliamentary constituency, where a by-election was held, began simultaneously at 8 a.m.

Counting has been taken up in 42 centres, mostly in the district headquarters towns, where central para-military forces have been deployed.

The RJD and its ally LJP contested 168 and 75 seats respectively. The CPI contested 56 seats and the CP-M 30.

Former Chief Minister Rabri Devi is contesting from two seats of Sonepur and Raghopur.he JD (U)-BJP combine has 143 seats, RJD-LJP 64, Congress nine and others 27 in the outgoing Assembly. (ANI)

Filed under: India

will not be displayed