Navy, Army vice chiefs to get highest service medal

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

NEW DELHI - Navy vice chief Vice Admiral D.K. Dewan and his Army counterpart Lieutenant General Arvinder Singh Lamba are among the 28 senior defence officers recommended for the Param Vishist Seva Medal (PVSM), the highest service medal, Tuesday.

They were named for the award by President Pratibha Patil here ahead of the 62nd Republic Day Wednesday.

The president also named Southern Army Commander Lt. Gen. Pradeep Khanna, NCC Director General R.K. Karwal, Deputy Army chiefs Lt. Gen. Vishnu Kant Chaturvedi, Lt. Gen. Jaswinder Pal Singh, Lt. Gen. V.S. Tonk, Signal-Officer-in Chief Lt. Gen. P. Mohapatra and Engineer-in-Chief Lt. Gen. M.C. Badani, and Chennai-based Officers Training Academy Commandant Lt. Gen. Gautam Banerjee for the PVSM.

From the Navy, PVSM will be awarded to chief of the Integrated Defence Staff Vice Admiral D.K. Joshi and Eastern Naval Commander Vice Admiral Anup Singh.

The PVSM recipients from the Air Force include Trivandrum-based Southern Air Commander Air Marshal Sumit Mukerjee, former Gandhinagar-based South Western Air Commander Air Marshal P.S. Bhangu, Allahabad-based Central Air Commander Air Marshal G.S. Kochar, Eastern Air Commander Air Marshal K.K. Nohwar and IAF Deputy chief Air Marshal N.V. Tyagi.

Another four officers each were named for Uttam Yudh Seva Medal and Yudh Seva Medal, and another 51 officers for Ati Vishist Seva Medal.

will not be displayed